Master's Programme
Mode of studies: 
full-time programme
2 years
Tuition fee: 
15 400 PLN annual fee
Degree awarded: 
Scholarships available: 
Application deadline: 
Friday, 30 August, 2019
Day of semester start: 
Tuesday, 1 October, 2019
Credits (ECTS): 
Admission requirements: 

By August 30th 2019, the applicants should submit the following documents by post or e-mail :

  • the application form for the academic year 2019/2020  (http://kandydat.kul.pl/en/vademecum-rekrutacji/ ),
  • a photocopy of the certificate of secondary education (High School Diploma/General Certificate of Secondary Education) entitling to enroll for studies in the country of issue,
  • a certificate confirming the command of English,
  • a photocopy of the applicant's passport;
  • Letter of Recommendation from the Church authorities (only clergymen),
  • proof of payment of the registration and 1st semester tuition fees.

The “PHILOSOPHY” faculty onward conducts in-resident studies of the first degree (licentiate, bachelor’s degree), which will be continued in the form of the second degree (master’s degree). In this transitory period there are still uniform master’s studies (for full-time and extramural students). The Faculty conducts doctoral and post-graduate studies.

Their curricula are carried out in three groups: university subjects (The Bible – its essence and role in culture, Catholic Social Doctrine, and modern languages), subjects common for the whole faculty (among others, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, general methodology of the sciences, general and particular ethics, history of ancient and medieval philosophy, history of modern and contemporary philosophy), and optional subjects within particular specialisations. The breadth and wealth of the didactic programme and research conducted by the staff of the Philosophy Faculty provide an opportunity for its students to specialise in very many areas. Specialisation is possible at the Department of Theoretical Philosophy within the following thematic blocks: logic and computer science, history, metaphysics and anthropology, social and political philosophy. At the Department of the Philosophy of Nature and Natural Sciences there are two chairs: philosophy of inanimate nature and philosophy of animate nature. Moreover, the two departments offer lectures in foreign languages.

Doctoral studies last 8 semesters (4 years). Their syllabus include monographic lectures and other classes chosen with a view to a doctoral dissertation. Furthermore, a doctorate student is obliged to participate in a doctoral seminar, where he presents the results of his research on his doctorate.

Post-graduate studies are initiated with respect to a given demand. At the moment, the Faculty conducts the following Post-graduate Course: teaching natural sciences at a primary school. The Faculty organises also three-semester-long Post-graduate Philosophical Studies for, among others, future philosophy teachers.