Erasmus+ is the European Union (EU) programme which supports projects, partnerships, events and mobility in the areas of education, training, youth and sport. The Programme, which runs from 2014 to 2020, provides funding opportunities for cooperation in all these areas, both among European countries and between European countries and Partner Countries throughout the world.

Erasmus+ Higher Education is mainly a student exchange programme which also includes work placements in companies abroad and academic staff mobility. It operates in the framework of the EU Erasmus+ Programme which continues the good tradition of the Lifelong Learning Programme (LLP) and involves all EU countries as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Turkey. Erasmus+ Higher Education allows students to undertake a part of their studies in another country without additional costs of tuition, registration or examination. Students obtain a scholarship that covers the costs of living abroad. The time spent studying abroad as well as the courses completed in accordance with the rules of the Programme have to be accepted by the home institution. In comparison with the LLP the ERASMUS+ Higher Education Programme offers a new option of graduate mobility for the purpose of practical training or work placement.

The Erasmus+ Programme has been developed by the EU’s European Commission and is implemented by the Executive Agency for Education, Audiovisual and Culture (EACEA) in Brussels and the National Agencies (NAs) located in each of the 33 Programme Countries. The institution that has been appointed as the Polish National Agency of Erasmus+ Programme is the Foundation for the Development of the Education System. The Foundation’s main aim is support, in its broad sense, for activities serving the development of education in Poland.

For more information on Erasmus+ Programme check the FRSE website and or the European Commission website: