In addition to the grading scale, there are HEIs in the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) under which a certain number of credits are allocated to a given subject, independently of the grade awarded. To complete a year successfully, a student has to collect 60 credits (30 per semester).

The ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) is the standard adopted by all universities in the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) in the process of convergence between Europe’s higher education systems. Since 2007, all Polish higher education institutions have been required to use ECTS for both credit transfer and accumulation within their degree programmes. The ECTS credits allow foreign students’ periods of study at HEIs in Poland to be recognised.

For more information on the adjustment to the Bologna Process and ECTS credits please visit: (European Higher Education Area) and (The Bologna Process, official website).